Skip to content

Bill Hammerich-2017 Livestock Leader Award Honoree

Join the Colorado State University Department of Animal Sciences for the Livestock Leader Reception to celebrate the 2017 Livestock Leader, William Hammerich. The reception will be held on Friday, September 8, 2017 from 3:00-5:00 p.m. at the Colorado State University Animal Sciences Building in Fort Collins, CO.

About Bill

The Colorado State Univeristy Department of Animal Sciences recognizes Bill Hammerich as Livestock Leader of the Year, September 8, 2017.

Bill Hammerich has served as the Chief Executive Officer of the Colorado Livestock Association (CLA) since 2002. He grew up on a cattle and farming operation in Western Colorado and after graduating from high school he attended Colorado State University where he graduated with a degree in Agricultural Economics.  Following graduation, he began his working career with Monfort of Colorado, then Farr Feeders and was with the Sparks Companies before joining CLA.
His time spent in the cattle feeding industry provided him not only with an understanding of how to feed cattle, but also the importance of protecting and sustaining the environment in which one operates. Such a background has served Bill and the CLA staff well as they represent a diversified membership in addressing those environmental issues with which the livestock industry has to deal. Bill and his wife Sabrina live in Severance, Colorado and have two grown children, Justin and Jessica, and four grandsons.

About the Livestock Leader Award
Beginning in 1960, the CSU Animal Sciences Department initiated an annual award to honor an outstanding individual in the livestock industry. The designation was called the Stockman of the Year, and a portrait of the individual was hung in the Animal Sciences Building. This award was last presented in 1976. In 1986 a similar award was initiated and termed the Livestock Leader Award. This award is presented at a social held in conjunction with the National Western Stock Show. Below are the portraits and citations for these prestigious awards.

Past Award Recipients
Vaughn Cook (2016)
Steve Gabel (2015)
Harold Harper (2014)
Dick Monfort (2012)
Cleon Kimberling (2011)
Randy Blach (2010)
Dallas Horton (2009)
Polly Johnson (2008)
Thomas Bradbury (2007)
Read more about the recipients here.

Register to attend by Sept. 1

Register online or call (877) 498-7787 or email

Posted in


Scroll To Top