Skip to content

2016 CLA Annual Meeting- A Great Success!

Over 275 producers, industry partners, students, and agency and government representatives met at the CLA Annual Meeting & Colorado’s Finest Celebration April 13-14, 2016 at the Embassy Suites in Loveland, CO.

The morning kicked off early with the Annual Membership Meeting at which the membership elected President-Elect (2-year term) Mike Veeman, Directors (3-year term) Dwain Weinrich, Trevor Tuell, and Grant Bledsoe. In addition, the membership recognized and thanked Immediate Past President Mark Frasier for his service to the Association as he finishes his leadership term.

The morning panelists stimulated great discussion and ideas about the future of state of Colorado and where we will be in 10 years from a growth, political and legislative perspectives. Panelists included Elizabeth Garner, State of Colorado; Jim Carpenter Stratton-Carpenter and Associates; Reeves Brown; Build for a Better Colorado and moderator Dr. James Pritchett, Colorado State University. Keynote speaker Cameron Bruett, the Chief Sustainability Officer and Head of Government Affairs at JBS, USA focused on sustainability of the livestock industry and the ability to endure as producers face intensifying governmental regulations, scarce resources for production and changing consumer trends.

The Past President’s Luncheon, was held in honor of the past leadership of the Association to recognize them for their service to the livestock industry in Colorado. Colorado Livestock Association is honored the late Dr. William Brock Faulkner, PhD, with the Top Choice Award, CLA’s most prestigious honor. Dr. Faulkner was a passionate and tireless advocate for the livestock industry in Colorado and across the country. Over the last 9 years Brock worked closely with livestock producers in Colorado on air quality issues related to Rocky Mountain National Park. CLA awarded their Safe Farm Awards to the following members for an outstanding safety program on their operations and a commitment to safe work practices; Bamford Feedyard, Christensen Brothers, Dvorak Feeders, McClary Farms, Penny Ranches, and Shea Feedlot.
The afternoon panelists featuring Vance Crowe, Director of Millennial Engagement at Monsanto; Dr. Michael Apley, PhD., Kansas State University; and Dr. Lily Edwards-Callaway, PhD, Crystal River Meats. The panel focused on divisive topics in the livestock industry including; antibiotic use, animal welfare, consumer perception and millennials.

Colorado Livestock Association would like to sincerely thank all of the sponsors of the annual meeting for their continued support of the livestock industry in Colorado. Mark your calendars for the 2017 annual meeting April 5-6 at the Embassy Suites in Loveland, CO!

Posted in


Scroll To Top