Skip to content

Colorado Livestock Association Bestows its Highest Honor

The Top Choice Award is given periodically by the Colorado Livestock Association to those individuals who have demonstrated through their words and their actions a commitment to the betterment of livestock agriculture here in Colorado. Past honorees have come from all walks of life, but the common denominator has been that they have all embodied a deep rooted belief in the importance of agriculture to the future of this state, this country and the world. This year’s recipient shares that same quality, but is also a person of courage and determination who is not afraid to make the tough decisions.

Previous winners include U.S. Senator Ben “Nighthorse Campbell, Dr. Temple Gandin, Environmental Ag Program Director Phyllis Woodford, industry giants W.D. Farr, Kenneth Monfort and Tom Camerlo, CLA Past Presidents Marshall Frasier and Bill Wailes, Colorado Commissioners’ of Agriculture Don Ament and John Stulp, Colorado State University professors Dr. John Matsushima, Dr. Gary Smith and Dr. Daryl Tatum, and our friends in the media such as Mr. “higher, higher” himself, Evan Slack. This is only a partial list of the many deserving individuals who have received this prestigious award. Colorado Livestock Association’s Top Choice honoree will become part of a very exclusive fraternity and we have no reservations that this individual is most worthy of inclusion in such an esteemed group.

The 2015 CLA Top Choice honoree is Dr. Tony Frank, President of Colorado State University. Dr, Frank’s contributions to Colorado’s ag industry are countless. His dedication to livestock producers is demonstrated in a strong working relationship between education and our association. He has brought to life the mission of CSU, which was inspired by its land-grant heritage. Under our honoree’s direction, CSU is committed to excellence, setting the standard for public research universities in teaching, research, service and extension for the benefit of the citizens of Colorado, The United States, and the world.

Dr. Frank has instituted the President’s Advisory Council utilizing the agriculture community. This venue allows for candid feedback and strategic advancement. CSU is committed to bringing agriculture to the masses, and Tony’s leadership in the National Western Campus; using experiential learning and research, will ensure that the importance of agriculture production will be communicated and embraced. In addition to the previously-mentioned contributions, he has actively participated in local and national service and professional organizations throughout his career; such as the Association of Public & Land Grant Universities Commission International Initiatives and the board of the Food Bank of Larimer County. He was appointed to the Deemed Export Advisory Council by the U.S. Department of Commerce. He has served on the editorial board of Toxicologic Pathology, and as a member of the Colorado Climate Action Panel. Both the Colorado and Illinois 4-H organizations have inducted him into their Halls of Fame.
He has received many honors in his field of education administration, and was named Fort Collins Board of Realtors Citizen of the Year.

Posted in


Scroll To Top